You Got A Question? Ask    GNOME Community!

gtk-theme2
 10868   |  Oct 25
gtk_logo2
 9380   |  Mar 17
arch
 7564   |  Mar 28

Time for a clean up with BleachBit!

This post was made with an older stylesheet

How does it work?

You can choose one or more of the categories on the left, or a specific subcategory and tick the corresponding box. You can then press the “Preview” button to let the application do its calculations and provide you with a detailed info on what is going to be removed and how much disk space will be freed. Here is an example of mine using the APT, Deep Scan and System categories:

As you can see at the bottom of the screenshot, 1.64GB of disk space is occupied for no reason according to the application. Now all I have to do in order to remove the 23901 files is to press the “Clean” button. Both the preview and the cleaning task complete in a matter of a few seconds.

What can I clean with it?

BleachBit offers a wide range of cleaners by default. Go ahead and find your favorite everyday applications on the following list to see what kind of cleaning is possible. (This is not a complete list – Things that are not related to Gnome such as Konqueror, or KDE itself, and things that are too insignificant are not mentioned here)

  • Adobe Reader - Delete the cache, Delete the list of recently used documents, Delete the temporary files
  • aMSN - Delete the cache, Delete the chat logs
  • aMule - Delete the logs, Delete the temporary files
  • APT - Autoclean and autoremove obsolete files, Delete the cache
  • Audacious - Delete the cache, Delete the logs, Delete the list of recently used documents
  • Bash - Delete the command history
  • Beagle – Delete the cache, Delete the search indexes, Delete the debug logs
  • Chromium/Chrome - Delete the web cache, Delete cookies, Delete the current session, Delete HTML5 cookies, delete form history, Delete the history which includes visited sites, downloads, and thumbnails, Reset the search engine usage history and delete non-factory search engines, Delete Vacum: Clean database fragmentation to reduce space and improve speed without removing any data
  • Deep Scan - Delete the backup files, Delete .DS_Store files, Delete Thumbs.db files, Delete the temporary files
  • Easytag - Delete the debug logs
  • ELinks - Delete the cookies, visited URLs, and search history
  • Emesene - Delete the avatars and emoticons cache, Delete the chat logs
  • Epiphany - Delete the web cache, Delete cookies, Delete Passwords: A database of usernames and passwords as well as a list of sites that should not store passwords, Delete Places: A database of URLs including bookmarks, favicons, and a history of visited web sites
  • Evolution – Delete the cache
  • Exaile - Delete the cache, Delete downloaded podcasts, Delete the logs
  • Filezilla - Delete the list of recently used documents
  • Firefox - Delete the web cache, Delete cookies, Delete Crash reports, Delete HTML5 cookies, Delete Download history, Delete form history: A history of forms entered in web sites and in the Search bar, Delete Passwords: A database of usernames and passwords as well as a list of sites that should not store passwords, Delete Session restore: Loads the initial session after the browser closes or crashes, Delete Site preferences: Settings for individual sites, Delete URL history: List of visited web pages, Delete Vacuum Clean database fragmentation to reduce space and improve speed without removing any data

  • Flash - Delete the cache, Delete cookies, which contain information such as web site preferences, authentication, and tracking identification
  • Gedit - Delete the list of recently used documents
  • gFTP - Delete the cache, Delete the logs
  • GIMP - Delete the temporary files
  • GNOME - Delete the usage history, Delete the search history
  • Google Earth - Delete the temporary files
  • Google Toolbar - Delete the search history
  • gPodder - Delete the cache and Vacuum
  • Gwenview - Delete the list of recently used documents
  • Java - Delete the cache
  • Libre Office – Delete the cache, Delete the usage history
  • Liferea - Delete cookies, cache and history
  • Links 2 - Delete the usage history
  • Miro - Delete the cache and logs
  • Nautilus - Delete the usage history
  • OpenOffice.org - Delete the cache, Delete the list of recently used documents
  • Opera - Delete the web cache, Delete cookies, Delete the current session, Delete HTML5 cookies, Delete Download history, Delete the search history, Delete URL history
  • Pidgin – Delete the cache and the chat logs
  • RealPlayer - Delete the cookies, logs and usage history
  • Recoll - Delete the search index, a database of words and the files they contain
  • Rhythmbox - Delete the cache
  • Screenlets - Delete the logs

  • Seamonkey - Delete the web cache, Delete the chat logs, Delete cookies, Delete download history, Delete the list of visited web pages
  • Skype - Delete the chat logs
  • System - Delete the cache, Clipboard: The desktop environment’s clipboard used for copy and paste operations, Broken desktop files: Delete broken application menu entries and file associations, Free disk space: Overwrite free disk space to hide deleted files, Delete files for unwanted languages, Memory: Wipe the swap and free memory, Recent documents list: Delete the list of recently used documents, Rotated logs: Delete old system logs, Delete the temporary files, Empty the trash
  • Thumbnails - Delete the cache
  • Thunderbird - Delete the web cache, Delete cookies, Delete Passwords, Delete Vacuum: Clean database fragmentation to reduce space and improve speed without removing any data
  • Transmission - Delete the cache
  • VIM - Delete ~/.viminfo which includes file history, command history, and buffers
  • VLC media player - Delete the most recently used list
  • Vuze/Azureus - Delete the backup files, Delete the cache, Delete the logs, Delete the temporary files
  • WINE and winetricks - Delete the temporary files
  • X11 - Delete the debug logs
  • XChat - Delete the chat logs
  • Xine - Delete the cache
  • Yum – Clean all (delete the cache)
You should always care about what you are deleting because sometimes you may find yourself loosing important things that you may needed for some reason. Also, although BleachBit didn’t do any harm on my system during this review, there is always the possibility of breaking things when deleting files in your system. You should always review first and check the output thoroughly.

BleachBit Homepage


 
  We can't watch comments unless G+ provides an API or if you send a notification, e.g +World Of Gnome
     Sometimes is better to place your questions on GNOME Community